Skip to content

Seattle

June 14, 2014

I took a bus from Eugene to Portland, where I met Erica for tea and spent a quick night with the Daglens. Bevin took me to a judo class that she led (this was my second time doing judo), and we had a nice home-cooked meal and wine. The next morning I fueled up with the famous Daglen oatmeal, and then Michael took me to the train station on his way to work. I was on my way to Seattle!

CIMG2584

I had never really visited Seattle when I lived on the west coast, and I wanted to see Jen while she was there for grad school, as well as the Glovzbys. It all worked out really well.CIMG2589

In Seattle, I rocked the bus system by using my same transfer pass all day long and even traveled by myself a few times (still without a smartphone). We did a lot of walking around the arboretum, then went to Seattle Center to see the Space Needle. We hung out by the giant fountain for a while, then got back on the bus to go to the Pine Box for dinner. I had an amazing mac and cheese made with Beecher’s cheese. We picked up Molly Moon’s ice cream on the way home (possibly rivals Red Wagon, in my opinion, which is saying something) and were dying of thirst from the salted caramel flavor the rest of the bus ride back.

I crashed on the couch in Jen’s apartment and went for a run to Gas Works Park the next morning. The weather had cleared up and I had gorgeous views of the city and mountains! Wished I had brought my camera with me. Jen had to go to work, so I took the bus to Pike Place Market and explored it before it got too crowded.CIMG2591

Next, I met up with Tabby and Daniel at a park near their house and we played in the sandbox and hung out on the porch back home while Daniel napped. After a busy weekend in Eugene, it was so nice to just sit around and chat. When Rick got home from work, we met up with Jen at a delicious Mexican restaurant near the University.

The next morning it was rainy, but I didn’t have anything else on my sightseeing to-do list, so Tabby and I walked at Seward park with raincoats and umbrellas. We warmed up with some tea and pastries at the Essential Bakery, then I met up with Jen and we traveled to Uneeda Burger for lunch (burgers of epic proportions and combinations). Our main goal of the afternoon was to go on a Theo chocolate factory tour! Our tour guide was hilarious and rambly, which made the tour very enjoyable. That and the free chocolate samples and hairnets.CIMG2594

Back at the Glovzbys, I played with Daniel outside for a while (I love how he says my name, and that I could have real conversations with him). We had a delicious beef stroganoff and kale salad for dinner, then walked to another Mary Moon’s for more ice cream (this time Stumptown coffee, hello).

The next morning was my last day in town, so we disrupted Rick and Daniel’s weekly tradition of visiting Rick’s cousin’s coffee shop by all going out to breakfast first and then visiting the coffee shop together. I had a small cup of a delicious pour-over coffee, which was so good.

CIMG2596

I love these pictures. So cute.

CIMG2597

It was Sarah’s birthday, so we Skyped with her and then Rick took me to the airport. I was sad to leave, but it had been a nice long vacation, and I couldn’t believe how much stuff I did and how many people I saw.

I took a little bit of the west coast home with me:IMG_0100

Note the Iris bottle!! I found a bottle of Pinot Noir from 2012, when I worked there. It got good reviews, so I can’t wait to try it!

Can I go back soon? This trip did help me realize that it’s not that hard to get out to Eugene (although the jetlag is annoying), and it was actually cheaper than my flight to Arkansas, so hopefully there will be more visits in the future.

 

(Random PS – I just realized that I’ve stopped double spacing between sentences because of work. I hate single spacing, but I guess 9.5 months of EiE formatting has finally rubbed off on me. At least we use the Oxford comma.)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

