Skip to content

Washington, DC

March 23, 2014

Two weeks ago I went to Washington, DC for a few days for work/play. I left from the Museum around noon on Tuesday, and by 4pm I was riding around DC on a bike from the amazing bikeshare program the city has established.CIMG2471

And in a t-shirt!!CIMG2469

I rode about 5 miles from my hotel in the SE up to the Mall, and around the Tidal Basin to see the monuments. The one problem with the bike was that I didn’t want to leave it unguarded, so I didn’t get to explore the monuments up close.  But that’s ok, because I was trying to keep the cost of the bike down by not having it for too long.

CIMG2466

CIMG2467

CIMG2468

Since I hadn’t been to DC in about 13 years, there were some new things too see.CIMG2470

I dropped the bike off near the White House and then walked up to a restaurant that had been recommended to me called Founding Farmers.CIMG2472

I sat at the bar and had a really nice dinner (brie, onion jam, and apple tartine with a nice salad), then took the Metro back to my hotel.

Wednesday and Thursday were work days.  The workshops went pretty well (the second day was especially great).  I was working with first grade teachers on a unit about hand pollinators/agricultural engineering.  The teachers really impressed me with their character voices when we read a play, and everyone sang along on the chorus about agricultural engineers.

I met up with Erin and Ben (Colby buddies) for dinner on Wednesday because they live literally across the street from my hotel.  Such a random coincidence!  We went to a local restaurant (Park Tavern) and had a nice meal of pizza and beer.

CIMG2473

After work on Thursday I spent the night at Erin and Ben’s.  We had a delicious home-cooked meal and then played Dominion and drank wine.  It was just like I was back in grad school!

Here is Zoe, Erin and Ben’s puppy:CIMG2476

On Friday everyone was working so I explored the Smithsonian museums by myself.  I don’t know if I’ve ever been to a museum by myself, but it was amazing because I could see what I wanted to see and then just move on whenever I felt like it!

I started at the Botanic Garden because I had never been.CIMG2478

CIMG2482

Then I visited the National Museum of the American Indian, where Erin works, and had lunch with her in the cafeteria.  Another new addition since the last time I was in town!

Then I went to the Hirshhorn to see some art, but much of it was under renovation and the exhibit that was there was weird, even for modern art standards (in my opinion).  But I always like the sculpture garden outside.CIMG2488

CIMG2489

I had much better luck at the Natural History museum.CIMG2490

I spent a lot of time in a newish exhibit about the evolution of humans.  I thought it was very well done.

I made a quick stop at the National Gallery and then met up with Camille (high school/elementary school friend), whom I hadn’t seen in ages!  We had a drink and caught up/reminisced, then met her husband and went to Ted’s Bulletin for dinner.  I was too busy eating my burger and drinking my adult milkshake (a grasshopper) to take photos, but it was delicious.  I spent the night at Camille and Andrew’s house in Alexandria.

The next morning we ate the homemade poptarts we took home from Ted’s with some tea.  So good!CIMG2494

Here is Chloe, Camille and Andrew’s pup:CIMG2492

I kept joking that Zoe and Chloe were opposites about pretty much everything, but we all thought they would still get along.

We all met up at Eastern Market and had a great time exploring the vendors and flea market.  Saturday was such a nice day!  I even got some color on my face.  I spent the afternoon putting a grill together with Camille and Andrew, and then we all went over to Erin and Ben’s to grill on their apartment’s rooftop.CIMG2508

We had a bit of a photoshoot in the setting sun.CIMG2496

Andrew and Camille.

CIMG2501

Erin and Zoe.

CIMG2505

The ladies.

CIMG2513

Whole group!

CIMG2514

Self-timer fail, but cute candid.

CIMG2515

As the sun set, it started getting cold, so we took our feast inside.CIMG2519

I believe there were mint juleps as well…

I spent the last night at Camille and Andrew’s because I had a morning flight home on Sunday.  Camille baked bread before I left, so I had an awesome send-off breakfast.CIMG2521

This was a ridiculously fun trip!  Everything went so smoothly and I got to see a ton of sights and spend some quality time with old (and new!) friends.  Thank you again for hosting me; I can’t wait to come back!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Melanie permalink
    April 4, 2014 12:51 pm

    I love DC! Glad you had a good time! Founding Fathers and Ted’s Bulletin are my favorite.

Leave a Reply

