Skip to content

Furnished apartment

November 30, 2013

I’ve been living in my apartment for about two weeks, and I’m really starting to love it.  I still have a long list of things I need to buy and do, but it’s livable for now and I needed a break from hunting for furniture.

The windows face east, which means I get really great morning light.CIMG2369

It also means there are glowing lights in some of these photos.  Sorry.CIMG2375

I got the kitchen cart from a sweet old Russian man on Craigslist, and the table and chairs are from Ikea.

The kitchen is about the same.  I need a stepstool.CIMG2377

I love this shower curtain.  It’s always interesting to find what’s included in the apartment (shower rod) and what’s not (hooks for curtain).CIMG2374

Bedroom area:CIMG2372

The bed and nightstand are from Ikea and the dresser is another Craigslist find.  It’s on the small side, but it fits perfectly between the two (non-connecting) closets.

Living area:CIMG2371

Clearly I still need to hang those paintings and get a couch.  There’s no overhead lighting in this (giant) room, so I’m glad I somehow managed to fit the lamp in my car.

I knew that it was going to be warm in a fourth floor apartment (even with my thermostat all the way down – my radiators haven’t ever been on), but after sweating through a few nights I was getting frustrated.  I originally had that white Ikea shelf on the opposite wall, but found that the floor in that corner of the room was getting really hot, so I moved it temporarily to get access to a panel that my dad and I lifted to reveal:CIMG2379

Completely uninsulated HOT water pipes.  With a loosely fitting panel on top that was leaking hot air between the cracks.  I know you’re going to say I should have gone to the landlord or superintendent, but I wanted something done quickly (don’t worry, everything we did was completely removable).

We just slid some fiberglass insulation in and as far over to the right as possible (it didn’t reach the whole way, so there’s still a warm spot, but it’s much better).CIMG2380

And then put in some removable caulk/putty to seal up the cracks.CIMG2381

We did the same thing on the other side of the wall in the bathroom.  We stuffed the insulation into the bottom of the radiator and covered it with a piece of wood.  Like I said, there’s still some heat seeping through, but it’s noticeably cooler (although I’m still cracking windows open in 25 degree weather).

The summer will also be very interesting, temperature-wise, but I’ll deal with that when we get to it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 3, 2014 8:59 am

    I never commented on this but the first picture is awesome!!!

Leave a Reply

