Skip to content

Fall in Boston

October 23, 2013

I’m loving being in Boston for the fall, even though it’s already as cold as it gets in Eugene in the winter.  I had to open one of the giant boxes I shipped to Massachusetts to get at some sweaters this morning.

What have I been up to lately?  Settling into work (it gets better every day!), buying furniture from Craigslist and Ikea, and trying to fit in some fun excursions.

I made a second attempt at tarte flambée, and it was much better this time around!CIMG2340

I was glad I could refer back to the blog to see that my notes were to make a thinner crust (I divided the dough into three parts instead of the usual two), use more sauce, and use normal bacon.  It was great, but I would still like my dough to be thinner.

I went apple picking with Laura at Nashoba Valley Winery… it was a mixed bag of an experience.CIMG2345

It wasn’t a huge place and a lot of the trees had been picked over.  There were no apple-grabber-pole-things to reach the apples in the top branches.  Our bag ripped and apples went tumbling down the hill to a collective “awww” from everyone around us.  They ran out of cider donuts before we could get any.  The winery was packed so it was hard to enjoy the experience of tasting.  But the apples were tasty, it was a gorgeous day, and it was nice to get out of town.  Oh and we stopped at a candy shop on the way back that had the best Halloween decorations ever.

I made a LOT of applesauce the next day.CIMG2346

This past weekend was the Head of the Charles so I walked to the river with my mom to check it out for a little while.CIMG2347

These geese were almost involved in a collision with some of the boats.  It was exciting to be at the turn right before the Eliot bridge where boats were lining up to go under the correct arch (and avoid each other, and the geese).

I keep meaning to write more about my job, but for now, here’s a picture from the garage above my office:CIMG2348

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

