Skip to content

Hood River

May 30, 2013

After I dropped my parents off at the airport, I immediately left for my last GK-12 trip to Umatilla.  After a really great week teaching 2nd graders, I spent Friday night in Portland at the Daglen B&B (where I hiked up Powell Butte twice, ate some good food, and tested my blood sugar three times) and met up with Sarah (on her way to LaGrande) in Hood River on Saturday.

Our first stop was Cathedral Ridge Winery.  We really enjoyed the wines here, as well as the view.CIMG2014

We quickly stopped at Hood River Vineyards, which I had forgotten I had already been to with Gina and Kelly ages ago.  We had a great time talking with the chemist-turned-winemaker, but didn’t really care for the sweet fruit wines.

Our last stop was Marchesi Vineyards, which was packed for an event.  We weren’t in any rush, so eventually we found a table outside and enjoyed some crunchy breadsticks with our wine.

We wandered into downtown Hood River for dinner, and ended up at Celilo.CIMG2015

Really good food.  We started out sitting outside, but it was so windy we eventually pulled our table indoors.  I had a pork shoulder with miso-mushroom broth and pork dumplings (best part!).CIMG2017

 

The next day we had an amazing breakfast at Egg Harbor Café just down the street from our motel.CIMG2019

But the best part was the view of Mt. Adams!CIMG2018

Fueled up and ready to go, we hiked up to a ridge with amazing views of Mt. Adams, Mt. Rainier, and Mt. Hood.CIMG2021

(Rainier on the left, Adams on the right)

CIMG2031

CIMG2041

(Mt. Hood)

CIMG2050

Of course we had to fit one more winery into our weekend, so we stopped at Wy’east Vineyards.CIMG2052

By far our favorite wine-tasting experience!  We got to sit outside on a gorgeous day, the wines were delicious, the staff friendly.  Definitely recommend this one.CIMG2053

Such a good weekend.  I returned for my second week teaching and had a great time making pizzas and hanging out with the teachers in the evenings.  And I didn’t catch a cold, a GK-12 first!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

