Skip to content

Tarte flambée

May 4, 2013

Or, in Alsatian:  flammekueche.

I’ve been wanting to try to make one of these ever since I started making pizzas.  It’s my favorite thing to eat when I’m in France (well, eastern France).  It’s essentially really really thin-crust wood-fired pizza with a cream sauce, traditionally topped with onions and lardons (thick bacon pieces), but there are other variations too.  When you get it at a restaurant, they just keep serving them until you say stop, and the number of tallies on your paper tablecloth is your bill.

For a first attempt, this wasn’t bad.  I used uncured bacon because I thought it would be more authentic, but it didn’t really produce the desired effect.

CIMG2011

Served with salad and cider.  I mean, cidre.CIMG2012

Next time:  More sauce, fewer toppings.  Just use normal bacon.  Try to roll out thinner dough.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Melanie permalink
    May 4, 2013 12:39 pm

    Yum! Flammkuchen! One of my favorite Biergarten snacks.

Leave a Reply

