Skip to content

Silvan Ridge Twilight 5k

August 30, 2012

On August 18, Emma and I ran in the second annual Twilight 5k at Silvan Ridge winery.  I had won a free entry to this race by being the only person to show up for a raffle!  Ha.CIMG1630

Unfortunately, I had tweaked my knee a few days earlier, and it was still a little swollen at the race.  Stupid knee.  It never really hurts, it just doesn’t have full range of motion when I mess it up, and then I’m just nervous and unstable on it for a while.

It was sunny and hot and the course was hilly.  It was an out-and-back, and I felt like the entire “back” was up a slight incline.  I also felt very underprepared for this race since I’ve been focusing on swimming and biking recently for my upcoming triathlon, and so have been slacking on the running.  It’s hard to train for three sports at once!

CIMG1631_crop

But despite all that, I won my age group with a time of 28:18.  Emma did really well too, and beat her goal time.  We got some wine and pizzas (they still need to work on their pizzas – I should volunteer to help them out) and enjoyed a nice evening on the patio.CIMG1632

Emma’s roommate, John, demonstrating how he went rock climbing.

My legs were SO sore for the next three days!  This race was a necessary reminder that after all that swimming and biking I’ll be doing in the tri, I still need to run a 5k, so I’d better run more in the next month!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

