Skip to content

Edinburgh

August 16, 2012

The next day the family started forming subgroups.  Michele and the kids were spending another day in Woodhouse Eaves, then exploring London with Colette and Nette.  My parents and I were off to Edinburgh with Maddy, Tommy, and Emily.  We took a really crowded train (I sat with my suitcase between my legs the whole time), which took about 4 hours.  Of course we ate baguette sandwiches for lunch along the way, mmm.  We checked in to our hotel and quickly made our way to the closest pub we could find, Nicholson’s.CIMG1377

Fortified with beer, we set out in search of the Royal Mile and dinner.  It was about a mile from our hotel to Edinburgh Castle, and it was great to be able to walk everywhere.CIMG1379

CIMG1384

We poked around for a bit before deciding to go to Hanam’s, a Kurdish/Middle Eastern restaurant.  Of course.CIMG1385

Wow, this was an amazing meal.  It was one of those random stops that ended up being really memorable.  I got a piece of braised lamb with a spinach/bean sauce (left) and some of the best naan ever.

On the walk back to the hotel we found some rabbits munching on their own dinner.CIMG1387

(I loved that it stayed light until 10 or 10:30 each night – it made walking back after dinner so much fun.)

The next day was our only full day to explore the city, and we did a lot!

We started out back at the Royal Mile, but this time walked all the way down to Parliament.  Such a neat building!CIMG1390

We took a quick lunch break and finally had some typical Scottish food.CIMG1393

I liked this sign:CIMG1394

Then we started our hike up Arthur’s Seat.  Here is the picture I took of the sign at the trailhead that I used to try to guide us with:CIMG1395

The plan was to take the Dry Dam (dotted black) up, cross over on red Piper’s Walk, and loop back along the crags on the Radical Road.

The up part went according to plan.CIMG1397

CIMG1399

CIMG1400

And even though no one had faith in my navigational skills, the crossover part when smoothly too.CIMG1404

Then we got to the road (yellow on the map) and realized how misleading the map was.  We could have easily turned around and gone back up the crag, but by this point most of us had had enough hiking and we were already late meeting Tommy, so we followed the yellow (brick) road back to the start.

My parents and I rushed off to a museum, where we saw Dolly.CIMG1408

I remember so clearly being in 5th grade (or maybe 4th… I guess it wasn’t that clear) when there was such a fuss about Dolly.  Cool!

And these sweet chessmen:CIMG1410

And the best lectern ever:CIMG1411

It started to rain as we left the museum, so we quickly walked back to the hotel, rested our tired feet for a few, then headed back out on foot to dinner.

Well, first we stopped for beer.CIMG1414

CIMG1415

THEN we walked to dinner.CIMG1417

We went to an Italian restaurant in the new part of town that had been recommended to Tommy.CIMG1420

It was so good.CIMG1421

I want to say these were butternut squash raviolis, but I can’t be sure.  It was almost too rich!  I introduced my dad to affogato (espresso + vanilla ice cream/gelato) for dessert, and he’s been hooked ever since.CIMG1422

It even stopped raining on the way back!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2012 5:40 pm

    THANK YOU for the postcard and for all the blog posts! I love them! And I’m glad it sounds like you had a great time. Also, I love that your family divided into “subgroups”. I like to think that each subgroup had to give a PowerPoint to the group as a whole by the end of the trip.

    • August 17, 2012 8:05 pm

      Hahaha I love the powerpoint idea. I wish I could “like” Cassie’s comment here.

  2. August 17, 2012 8:40 am

    Glad you enjoyed your meal with us at hanam’s!

  3. August 17, 2012 8:05 pm

    Your Dad looks so proud of his beer! I hope it was delicious.

Leave a Reply

