Skip to content

Skiposium

February 11, 2012

Alternatively titled, “Our boss gets drunk and really really wants to dance.”

The annual University of Oregon Chemistry Department Organometallic Snow Symposium, aka Skiposium, is always something to look forward to.  A department-sanctioned weekend away in the mountains?  Yes please!

Sarah gave a great talk on Friday night, and then DT wanted to get out of there immediately and go back to our group’s house to have a “techno dance party.”  He was standing outside in the freezing cold wanting to get in my car when a) the rest of us didn’t even have our shoes on yet and b) there was a car blocking our exit.  So I unlocked the doors and we sat in the car with the heater blasting while we waited for everyone else.  The dance party was a ton of fun – there was really only one techno song, but that’s fine by me.

The next morning I got up early and did a little XC skiing over at the base of Mt. Bachelor.CIMG0719

Broken Top:CIMG0714

CIMG0718

I got back in time to pick up the crew and we attempted to find a place to hike.  Instead I drove us ten miles up an icy road to discover the last three miles were closed.  I promise, Paulina Lake and the mountains around it are REALLY PRETTY.CIMG0720

It was chilly in the morning but the sun warmed up the day to where we could sit outside comfortably and drink beer.

CIMG0722

We met Ben and a bunch of other people from our trip at 10 Barrel Brewing Company in Bend.  Gosh I want to live in Bend.  It reminds me of Boulder, another place on my list.  I think the sunny days and mountain views would do a lot for my well being.

I had a delicious lamb burger and didn’t even get to look at the beer list before the bartender suggested a pale ale to go along with it and was handing me a taster.  It was great, so I went along with it.  We’ll just have to go back to sample the rest…

Saturday evening we hung out at the house in Sunriver, made fajitas, and played lots of Dominion and mafia.  The next day we packed up and drove back to Eugene, stopping again (we stopped on Friday for lunch too) at the Brewers Union Local 180 Public House in Oakridge.  This place is symbolic for adventures, since we only stop here when going through the pass, so sitting outside in the sun with a beer (they do real half pints!) and sweet potato fries is about as good as it gets.CIMG0712

Rock sculpture garden?  What can I say, Oakridge has charm.CIMG0711

Until next year…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

