Skip to content

Christmas in New England

January 4, 2012

CIMG0601

Good old Charles River.

The next stop on my travels was a visit to NH to see Christine in Franconia.  I met her and her Tufts buddies in Littleton, where we did some shopping and ate Thai food for lunch.  It was sleeting/freezing rain at this point and it was just nasty out – perfect weather to curl up under a ton of blankets and dogs and watch ‘The Help’.

The “longest candy counter in the world” in Littleton:CIMG0603

We left early the next morning, and since I had nothing to do all day, I drove over the White Mountains to North Conway, where I met Brianna for breakfast.  Well, I had breakfast before she got there, but we stayed and chatted in the Stairway Café, which was just adorable.CIMG0605

Goat cheese, spinach, and roasted red pepper omelette with homemade applesauce, mmm:CIMG0604

The next few days included various bike rides, walks, runs, dinners, and lunches with friends and family.  We shuffled around our Christmas schedule so that my aunt and uncle could drive up to VT to spend Christmas with my cousin, so we did our big Christmas dinner on Christmas Eve.

That left my parents, uncle, grandmother, and me to our own devices on Christmas day:CIMG0609

My two favorites from the Scotch tasting:CIMG0610

We had a really nice meal of endive and beet salads followed by couscous.CIMG0615

CIMG0616

A few days before I left for the west coast, I met up with Gina, Kelly, and their friend Alia at The Beehive on Tremont St.  It was a really neat place!

CIMG0618

CIMG0619

All in all, it was a great visit to the east coast.  I got to see a lot of friends and family, I read the whole Hunger Games series (AMAZING.  Seriously, they’re at the top of my list of favorite books now) and The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo (also good plane reading), and felt very relaxed.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 4, 2012 8:59 am

    1) Love the Charles River pic!
    2) I have been to the candy counter in Littleton a BUNCH of times, most recently in Nov!
    3) Stairway Cafe does look adorable!

Leave a Reply

