Skip to content

Thanksgiving, round one

November 25, 2011

Ah, Thanksgiving.  My favorite holiday.  It celebrates everything that is fall, it’s the beginning of the holidays, it’s all about eating delicious food… so good.

The best way to start any holiday weekend is lunch at the Bier Stein:

CIMG0507

On Thursday morning a bunch of us drove over to the eastern edge of Springfield to run a 5k, the 30th annual Turkey Stuffer.  It had been POURING rain all day Wednesday (enough to warrant the Bike Poncho), so we were nervous it was going to be a wet race.  Luckily we woke up on Thursday to SUN!  And therefore cold.  By the time the race started it was a really nice temperature out, and we all had a great time.  I ran faster than the Race for the Cure (24:09ish), which was surprising since I didn’t feel as good in this one (I think I ran the first mile too fast and had a killer stitch in my side for about the first 2 miles), but I guess you never feel good when you’re running fast.

We all headed over to Emma and Michelle’s for dinner.  Much of Thanksgiving is usually spent hanging out in the kitchen:

CIMG0510

CIMG0512

Dinner was served “bistro-style” and was fantastic.  The hosts did an excellent job with the turkey and everyone provided delicious sides.  Bryan and Kara don’t look happy about sitting at the kids’ table.CIMG0514

We made hand-turkeys!  Just like kindergarten.

CIMG0515

Our wine contributions:CIMG0513

My plate:

CIMG0516

Dessert table:CIMG0518

After dinner we played some Apples to Apples (epic game with at least a dozen of us) and Phase 10.  It was a really fun, relaxing, and delicious day!  Of course I missed my family back home, but I got to talk to most of them on the phone and from the background noise it sounded like they were having a great time.  I even listened to “Alice’s Restaurant” 1.5 times!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2011 1:32 pm

    Looks like a fabulous Thanksgiving!!! Your plate looks delicious. Apples to apples is a fantastic game. And of course you listened to Alice’s Restaurant.

    Now on to the next holiday… and YOU VISITING!!!

  2. November 28, 2011 8:40 am

    I really like that photo of Emma and I. Nice work!

Leave a Reply

