Skip to content

Honey mustard

October 22, 2011

Last weekend was a ton of fun!  Unfortunately I forgot my camera in the lab (and didn’t want to bike back through campus because there were so many people there for Game Day and I nearly had a football hit me on the head), but I think everyone else in our large group brought theirs, so there are pictures out there somewhere.

After yoga and the Packers game/brunch, a big group of us got together and went to Lone Pine Farms in Junction City.  The clouds parted just as we arrived and we ended up having a wonderfully sunny and warm day.  The main attraction of the farm was a corn maze (a maize maze), which I was really excited about because I had never been to one.  At night it’s haunted, but we were there during the day, which was creepy enough for me.  I was very impressed at how the path would generally lead you in the right direction but there were still lots of places where we got stuck and had to turn around (or got turned around!).  It took about an hour to walk through the whole thing.  We then walked down to the pumpkin patch and picked out some pumpkins for carving.  I also picked up a few hazelnuts from the orchard that made their way into a cabbage salad that evening.  I couldn’t resist buying some apple butter and apricot jam on the way out.  I also couldn’t resist the espresso milkshakes on the drive home!  I think I only suffered a little from over-caffeination.

Tuesday is the weekly CSA pick-up and it’s always exciting to see what random vegetables we receive and figure out how to turn them into dinner.  This week’s share included parsnips and broccoli, so I said “parsnip chips!” and Sarah said “chicken tenders!” and we had dinner.  The reason for the excitement over chicken tenders is that Sarah bought some honey mustard at the farm and wanted to test it out.

CIMG0460

Verdict:  yummy!  I could eat parsnip chips all day.

Beer:  Sarah picked up this delicious imperial oak-aged pumpkin beer at the Bier Stein recently.  We split it and still had some leftover.

CIMG0471

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 25, 2011 7:57 am

    I’m honored that the title of this post was Honey Mustard. 🙂 I LOVE THAT STUFF. In case you didn’t already know… Some day soon I will hopefully get around to those pumpkin patch photos!

Leave a Reply

