Skip to content

Decorative gourd season

October 8, 2011

Now that it’s October and school is back in session (I only notice/care about that because it is CROWDED.  EVERYWHERE.  Oh and I’m TAing the inorganic lab again this term so I should probably pay attention to the academic calendar) and it is cold and rainy I am willing to accept that it is fall.  Yay, I love fall!  Blankets and leaves and soccer and pumpkin and warm beverages… always makes me really miss New England, though.

Anyway, the point is now that it’s officially pumpkin season, it’s the perfect time to make something I’ve been wanting to try for a while now:  pumpkin risotto.

This recipe called for an intact pumpkin as well as canned.  Unfortunately the only pumpkins at the store were pretty big, which resulted in lots of leftover not-too-flavorful gourd.  I didn’t take pictures of the cutting/de-seeding (the pomeranians!)/peeling because my hands were covered in pumpkin slime and I was hurrying to get out the door to go watch Stardust for the first time (awesome movie!).  Let’s just say that for a lame-tasting pumpkin it was not worth the effort – canned wins out for pumpkin.

The end result…

Pumpkin risotto on a bed of kale.

… was not my favorite.  The pumpkin chunks were still a little underdone (and a lot stringy), the goat cheese kind of got lost, and I could have used more bouillon.  However, the leftovers were better than the original once I added a little extra salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg, plus microwaving time allowed the pumpkin to soften up.

Conclusion:  glad I tried it once, probably won’t make it again.  WILL be making different kinds of risotto soon since I bought a new bag of arborio rice only to discover that the package we had in the cupboard was mostly full.

A splash of white wine was needed to deglaze the pan at some point, so we opened a  Chardonnay:

If you only need half a cup for a recipe, that leaves a lot left to drink.

Chardonnays are not my favorite, but this one wasn’t too Chardonnay-y, so I thought it was ok.  Still not my thing though.

One more random wine review from a different night.  Erica was kind enough to invite Sarah and me over for pad thai one Monday evening – I skipped rainy soccer practice to go and don’t regret that ONE BIT.  I love her pad thai.  Shrimp and tofu and veggies and spicy!  We brought the wine.

Go technology: Sarah took this pic with her phone and emailed it to me.

We liked this Malbec enough to finish the whole bottle!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2011 5:26 am

    Malbecs are the best wines ever.
    New England misses you this fall!

  2. October 20, 2011 2:07 pm

    Title inspired by: http://www.mcsweeneys.net/articles/its-decorative-gourd-season-motherfuckers

    I’m sorry for the language, but it’s pretty hilarious. 🙂 “I may even throw some multi-colored leaves into the mix, all haphazard like a crisp October breeze just blew through and f–ked that sh– up.”

Leave a Reply

