Skip to content

Too much food on my plate

September 28, 2011

I have a pretty terrible memory, so the goals of this blog are to help me remember:

1) things I’ve done

2) food I’ve made

3) wine/beer I’ve drunk

I’ve been saving up some photos of meals I’ve (we’ve?  I think most of these are from the three months that Sarah was in China, but there might be some collaborations in here as well) made recently that I wanted to remember because they were especially delicious.

Let’s start off simple: salads.  I have this issue with salads and sandwiches (more so with sandwiches) that I like them a lot more when someone else makes them.  I think it’s because there are usually a lot of components involved and it seems like a lot of effort for not much payoff.  I’m trying harder though!

Strawberries, goat cheese, my own bread.

Avocado and olives.

Next, breakfast!  Probably my favorite meal of the day.  Dinner is usually more elaborate, and can be very hit or miss.  But breakfast is always good.  And morning is the best time of day.

It's much easier to make one giant pancake than lots of small pancakes. Shown here with Mariage Freres tea in my Colby chem beaker-mug and Flying Squirrel Peanut Butter.

French toast on CGB-bread with peaches and raspberries, and VERY locally grown mint.

For my birthday last year, Sarah got me an awesome bread-making book.  It has changed my life.  Well, that in combination with the purchase of a pizza stone (essential for crusty bread).  I’ve been working on perfecting the basic breads in the book, but I think it’s time to move on to some of the more elaborate flavor combinations.

Potato and roasted garlic bread for Septemberfest 2011.

Puffy pita!

Pizza dough.

My dad taught me how to make crepes.  But I can’t reveal the secret ingredient.

Crepes!

And now for a smorgasbord of dinners:

Tuna, on a salad nicoise kind of thing. ish.

CSA-inspired dinner: grilled potatoes and a tomato party salad with mozzarella.

Kebabs with quinoa and tahini green beans.

We borrowed Rick and Tabby’s Indian cookbook one night, which resulted in a mess of cardamom pods/seeds and a four-burner meal.  Rice, soupy vegetables, NAAN, and beef with garam masala.

I need a wide-angle lens.

One night Rick and Tabby invited us over for dinner.  Rick and I raced to see who could scoop their half of a watermelon out fastest to make juice.  I lost.

The aftermath of the watermelon juice.

Sarah and I have no idea how this wine ended up in our cabinet.  But it was good!

Mystery wine. I would drink it again.

We drank it with salmon cooked on the grill in lime juice, sauteed peppers and leeks, grilled corn on the cob, and a fantastic green salsa made from tomatillos from Open Oak Farm.  Spicy!  I also love stemless wine glasses.

Salmon, salsa, corn, rice, and peppers.

Bon appetit!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2011 4:16 am

    HOLY DELICIOUSNESS BATMAN!!!!! wooooow. Delicious, but also just beautifullly plated (this is a term I learned from ‘Chopped’) and gorgeously photographed.
    In other news I MIGHT HAVE CELIACS DISEASE which would just make me cry…. bread is my FAVE. Waiting for the bloodwork back. Fingers crossed!!!

  2. September 29, 2011 4:17 am

    PS. I did not leave that comment at 4:16 am… not sure what the deal is w/that.

Leave a Reply

