Skip to content

You might as well have a good time

September 18, 2011

 

CAKE.  At Edgefield.  Best idea ever.

Taken at intermission. I was good and didn't take pictures during the show.

Ok, let’s back up.  I’m talking about Cake the band, not cake the cake.  And Edgefield is one of the McMenamins compounds just east of Portland, OR (not Portland, ME.  It confuses me to no end that on the east coast, route 95 splits into 295 just before Portland, so when I would drive to Colby the choice was always between those two roads.  Out here in Oregon, interstate 5 splits into 205 just south of the other Portland.  I usually slip up and say “95” or “295” at least once when driving through Portland, OR.).  McMenanims is a northwest chain of restaurants/brewpubs that are all incredibly quirky and unique.  Edgefield has its own winery, distillery, brewery, restaurant, movie theater, spa, hotel, and golf course, to name a few.  It’s on a beautiful hill and they grow a lot of their own food right there.  You can get a drink (fresh-squeezed juice + made-right-there gin, for example) at any of the numerous bars hidden around the campus and are free to wander around as you please.  And during the summer, they have an outdoor concert series on the lawn.

Needless to say when I got the pre-sale announcement about the show from Cake’s email list I went ahead and bought tickets for myself and Sarah, my roommate.  Maisha ended up getting one later on, so the three of us ducked out of work early on Friday and drove up to Portland.  Unfortunately we didn’t have time to explore Edgefield because we had to get in line for when the gates of the show opened at 5pm to get a good spot for our blankets.  Also unfortunately, we weren’t allowed to exit and re-enter the area, so we had to make do with the more limited concert menu.  Still delicious, of course.

Our spot on the lawn. Cheeseburgers are not as good without tots!

Hummus platter + ruby ale. Yes I took a little nibble of pita before I took the picture. It was warm!

The show was great.  Cake puts on a great show, and it definitely reaffirmed their spot as one of my favorite (if not THE favorite) bands.  I was grinning and singing along the whole time.  The weather held up, it was cool enough for sweatshirts (ok, FINE, fall is here), and we had a pretty good spot where we could see the stage most of the time.  This is one of those times where I wished I was taller.

After the show we drove a few minutes down the road to Bevin and Michael’s home.  They are always such gracious hosts, and we were excited to be able to spend the whole next day with them instead of dashing off to the airport like we usually do.  We had a slumber party on the judo mats and awoke the next morning to RAIN.  EW.  As much as I love fall, I do not love the constant Oregon rain, and I felt like summer had been too short.  We had a great lazy day:  I went for a quick run in the rain up Powell’s Butte, we ate the famous Daglen oatmeal with flax seeds, met up with Dawn and baby Ian at a delicious Mexican restaurant for linner (lunch/dinner), got our spines adjusted by Mike, and lounged on beanbags watching girly TV shows.  We sadly left late Saturday night, because we had things to do on Sunday (today)!

Nachos at Agave Azul (Vista Ave in Gresham). Go there. Go there now.

I had a great yoga class this morning and then biked home to hang out with Sarah, Bryan, and Kara, who were watching the Packers football game on TV.  Meanwhile, I made a leek and bacon quiche and salad (whoops, no pictures).  Between that and the cinnamon rolls that Kara made, we had quite the spread!  Sunday things followed, like food shopping, cleaning, and bread-dough-making.  It’s been sunny today and relaxing and I felt like it’s been a wonderfully loooong weekend.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2011 2:08 pm

    What am I, chopped liver?

  2. September 19, 2011 4:37 pm

    Sorry Jen!!! WE SKYPED WITH JEN DURING THE GAME.

  3. September 20, 2011 7:57 am

    1) Jen did not do her part to help eat the food though! This is going to be a problem!

    2) You are so right about the tots. Now I’m just really craving Cajun tots….

    3) AGAVE AZUL! WIN!

    4) De-seed pomeranians!

  4. September 29, 2011 4:10 am

    CAKE!!! Being short is definitely endlessly frustrating at concerts. At my physical yesterday I was told I am 5’1″, but I think that’s being generous.
    This blog is going to make me hungry every time I read it, isn’t it.

Leave a Reply

