Skip to content

Foundations for cathedrals

September 7, 2011

First of all, an explanation of the title of this blog.  It  comes from Moby Dick:

“For nothing was this man more remarkable, than for a certain impersonal stolidity as it were; impersonal, I say; for it so shaded off into the surrounding infinite of things, that it seemed one with the general stolidity discernible in the whole visible world; which while pauselessly active in uncounted modes, still eternally holds its peace, and ignores you, though you dig foundations for cathedrals.”

This book is so full of poetry it’s ridiculous.  I spent the entire month of January (in Maine) re-reading it for a class, and seeing it through the eyes of my Buddhist-poet-professor gave me a new perspective on some of its themes.  There were three phrases in that one sentence that I was deciding between for the title.  I’m sure a few more lines will pop up here from time to time.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. mariachristinacecilia permalink
    September 14, 2011 4:22 am

    LOVE it. I totally remember how you did a Moby Dick Jan-plan! Was that senior year?

  2. September 18, 2011 2:45 pm

    I think it was junior year… senior year I did research for Jan Plan so it must have been the year before. Was I up until midnight on my birthday reading Moby Dick? possibly.

  3. September 26, 2011 5:30 am

    This blog title would be such a good spectroscopy allusion I’m surprised I haven’t already heard it. Also, yay for having a blog!!!

Leave a Reply

